News | Forum | People | FAQ | Links | Search | Register | Log in
Quake Upstart Mapping Project - In Beta Release, Link Included!
Update: Current release here:

http://www.mediafire.com/file/p8r3d4k38fmkmrd/qump.zip

Playtest and give feedback!

Idea is to encourage newbies to build a quake map, and stick them all together. Anyone is welcome to join, just add yourself in here:

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1Zlfb2U2VCeS70uS6Klc2ZEOC9KtnYyCyBXEmeetjh0c/edit

The recent DUMP projects for doom have been good motivation to get people into mapping, or for old hands to do something casual. I started building a quake map and decided someone should start a QUMP project, although I'm a total noob to quake mapping, hopefully I can learn what I need to put this project together over the next few months. If a more experienced mapper wants to take over as organizer, I would be grateful, but I'll do what I can in the interim.

Should we promo a bit about this? It is sometimes hard to let people know about this if not using blogs, simple articles etc. It would be idealogy to mention about this in others quake related sites as well. 
Ideal* 

yep feel free to share it wherever you like 
Good Luck 
Really great idea, hope new mappers come to join in. 
One Question 
AD Mod or Just classic Quake? 

yeah
i would like AD, but i'm totally ok with classic quake. so no pressure.

it's possible to use AD Mod and don't use the new entities and functions?
if someone isn't confortable with them, the only changes are gameplay changes (projectiles shotgun, different AI, etc).

and since we are newbies, we are not familiarized with anything yet. if we don't use AD func, entities, etc features there is much complexity added? is there much difference between classic quake funcs (eg. funcdoor, funcplat) and the respective ad versions? are they mostly the same?
if not, then there is little harm in using AD.

i don't plan to use many funcs, triggers and more complex stuff anyway.